by Lorraine Divone, NARSAD Production and Art Director

LeBlues_du_Businessman by Renee Marier

Le Blues du Businessman, 7" x 9" Watercolor and Ink, by Renee Marier (sold out)

“I was painting before I was even speaking. When I was very young I knew that I wanted to attend L’École des Beaux Arts of Montréal. Then at 19, I was diagnosed with schizophrenia, and for the next 23 years I was in and out of hospitals. I was taking medication that made me shake so badly I had to stop painting. I abandoned my dream of studying at L’École and becoming a professional artist. Then, at age 42, I was given a break from the medication and a few months later I noticed that I could sign my name. So I ventured into sketching and drawing and – after discovering watercolor crayons – into painting. I’m on a new medication with fewer side effects now and am able to continue my delightfully whimsical art.”
Renee Marier

NARSAD Artworks
To learn more about NARSAD Artworks and to see additional artwork, visit their website: http://www.narsadartworks.org.

